Payment cancelation and void cut-off timing

Payments made to vendors may be canceled until 3:00 am Pacific Time / 6:00 am Eastern Time the morning of the process date, the date the payment is sent. Once a payment has passed this cancellation cutoff, it can only be voided.

To void a payment, your role must have Pay permissions, and you must be a verified user on the bank account originally used for the payment.

Payments received from customers can be canceled while still in a scheduled status. Once the payment processes it cannot be voided.

Review the details based on the payment type:

Checks

  • A check can be canceled until 3:00 am Pacific Time / 6:00 am Eastern Time the morning of the process date
  • After 3:00 am Pacific Time / 6:00 am Eastern Time on the process date, a check can be voided if it has not yet been cashed by the vendor
  • Voiding the check will not prevent the debit from the bank account
  • If there is a check number on the payment confirmation screen, the check has been issued and sent to the vendor
  • Voiding a check will place a stop payment on the check
  • A check with a stop payment on it will be rejected when presented at the bank
    • As a courtesy to the vendor, be sure to notify them when a check is no longer valid to prevent incurring fees from their bank if they attempt to cash it
  • Checks can be voided until they have been cashed by the vendor
  • All checks are printed with the words "Void after 90 days." On the 91st day after the date of issuance, the check is voided and the funds are deposited back to the issuing account

ePayments

  • An ePayment can be canceled until 3:00 am Pacific Time / 6:00 am Eastern Time the morning of the process date
  • An ePayment can be voided before 4:00 pm Pacific Time / 7:00 pm Eastern Time on the bank business day before the deposit date
  • Voiding the ePayment will not prevent the memo post on the bank account

Virtual Card

  • A Virtual Card payment that is scheduled to process on a future process date can be canceled prior to the process date
  • After a Virtual Card payment processes, it can be voided, as long as it has not yet been authorized through the supplier’s merchant card processing system
  • Virtual Card payments expire 30 days from the process date

Receivables ePayments

  • A receivables payment made from a portal account, (your branded website address), before 3:00 pm Pacific Time / 6:00 pm Eastern Time the bank business day before the payment date can be canceled before 4:00 pm Pacific Time / 7:00 pm Eastern Time the bank business day before the payment date
  • A receivables payment made from a portal account, (your branded website address), after 3:00 pm Pacific Time / 6:00 pm Eastern Time the bank business day before the payment date can be canceled before 6:00 pm Pacific Time / 9:00 pm Eastern Time the bank business day before the payment date
    • If a receivables payment from a portal account is canceled, no debit will be made to the customer's account
  • Receivables payments made from a Cashflow360 account, customer is connected via the Network and the customer profile has a Payment Network ID (PNI), cannot be canceled by the receiver. Payments made from a Cashflow360 account will need to be canceled by the payer
    • If the receiving business cancels these types of payments, it is only cosmetic. This type of void will not stop money movement